Overview of Governance Structure John Hampden and Tetsworth Schools' Federation

1. The Role of the Federation Governing Board

Governing boards have three core strategic functions:

- a. Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos, and strategic direction
- b. Holding the headteacher to account for the educational performance of the schools and their pupils; and
- c. Overseeing the financial performance of the schools making sure its money is well spent.

2. Membership of the Governing Board

DfE's Governance' Handbook says:

The membership of the board should focus on skills, and the primary consideration in the appointment and election of new governors should be acquiring the skills and experience the board needs to be effective.

All Governors must govern in the best interest of pupils; it is not their role to represent a stakeholder group but to act as the champions for the children in the federation.

The current composition of the John Hampden and Tetsworth Schools' Federation Governing Board (05.09.2022) is made up of the following members:

Type of Governor	Name
Headteacher	Paul Hankey
Parent Governors	Luke Hanratty
	Vacancy
Local Authority	Vacancy
Governor	
Staff Governor	Laura Craig
Co-opted Governors	Head of School (Tetsworth)
	Beverley Fulton
	Sarah Bradford
	Rosy Bowling
	Sian Stratton
	Rachel Caseby
	Vacancy

The school's Instruments of Government give full details of the constitution of the board, the numbers and category of governors. The headteacher chooses whether or not to be a governor; in practice almost all Heads choose to do so.

For information on what is expected of Governors in our Federation, please see **Code of Conduct for Governors**; also see DfE guidance: https://www.gov.uk/government/publications/governance-handbook

3. Governance Structure

The John Hampden and Tetsworth Schools' Federation Governing Board operates as a single board, meeting monthly as a full governing board (FGB) and appointing lead governors for specific aspects of the governing board work.

The Governors believe this method of governance:

- **a.** Ensures the Headteacher and Governors are more effective by being decisive, strategic, and proactive.
- **b.** Empowers governors as all are part of the decision-making process and party to full discussions (avoiding the repeating of information in committees and at FGB, which previously often led to a dilution of the key points).
- **c.** Is more inclusive, utilising the strengths and skills of all governors, including staff governors.
- **d.** Allows Lead Governors to be proactive and propositional when organising, carrying out and delegating monitoring activities.
- **e.** Ensures Governor' Visit Reports are meaningful, as these are discussed sooner.
- **f.** Supports all governors' full understanding and involvement and will promote succession planning.

Roles 2022-2023

The chair of governors is Rachel Caseby and the vice-chair is Beverly Fulton.

Governors can be contacted by email on: jhtgovernors@gmail.com.

Role	Governor
Chair	Rachel Caseby
Vice-Chair	Beverley Fulton
Safeguarding Governor	Rachel Caseby
Whistleblowing Governor	Luke Hanratty
Headteacher Appraisal Subgroup	Beverley Fulton
	Sian Stratton
	Rachel Caseby
Pay Committee	Beverley Fulton
	Luke Hanratty
	Rosy Bowling
Lead Governor	
SEND and Pupil Premium	Rosy Bowling
Wellbeing and PSHE	Sian Stratton
Finance, Staffing and Premises	Beverley Fulton
Curriculum, Early Years	Rachel Caseby
Health and Safety	Luke Hanratty
Other Roles	Personnel
Clerk to the Board	Katherine Richardson

It is expected that Governors will develop an in-depth knowledge and an understanding of their lead area.

Each **Lead Governor** will be responsible for:

- proposing the monitoring schedule for their area at the beginning of each term
- Undertaking any monitoring and writing the associated reports
- Take responsible for their area/s on the FGB meeting agendas

There is one **standing committee: Pay**. This committee will meet twice a year to undertake the responsibilities of the board as set out in the Oxfordshire County Council Pay policy. This committee is **chaired by Beverley Fulton** and members of the committee are: Rosy Bowling and Luke Hanratty.

Working Groups will be formed as needed with no delegated powers. A designated convener will be responsible for reporting to the FGB and maintaining meeting notes. A working group for setting the proposed budget will be in place for the spring term.

If required, the chair of governors will form **panels of governors** in line with the appropriate school policies.